Otorhinolaryngology (ENT) is the medical-surgical specialty dedicated to the observation, diagnosis, prevention and treatment of diseases of the ears, nose, pharynx (throat), larynx and neck.

For the Portuguese Order of Physicians, the complete name for the specialty is ‘Otorhinolaryngology and Cervical-Facial Surgery’ and is divided into several sub-specialties, focusing on the following areas: Otology, Neurotology, Skull Base Surgery, Rhinology, Facial Plastic Surgery, Laryngology, Head and Neck Surgery, Voice, Paediatric ENT.

In the 1950s, scientific societies were formed around the world and on the initiative of Dr. António Manuel da Costa Quinta, a group of Portuguese ENT specialists met and decided to convene a general meeting of otorhinolaryngologists from all over the country to create the basis for a society that would adopt the name of SOCIEDADE PORTUGUESA DE OTORRINOLARINGOLOGIA E BRONCO-ESOFAGOLOGIA.

The first Board was elected on 17 May 1953 for the period 1954-1955 and was comprised of: Dr. Alberto Luís de Mendonça (President), Dr. Jaime Magalhães (Vice-President), Dr. António Manuel da Costa Quinta (1st Secretary), Dr. Albano Encarnação Coelho (2nd Secretary), Dr. José Campos Henriques (Treasurer), Dr. Teófilo Esquível (Member) and Dr. Cancela de Amorim (Member).

Note: Historical data adapted from: www.sporl.pt